Did You Know Facebook Is Using You?


How many times have you seen on the right hand side of the page “Jane Doe (your friend – in this example) likes Pepsi” – or Verizon Wireless?  The company or product doesn’t really matter, because if you haven’t changed your privacy settings, it’s targeting your friends with your identity whether you like it or not.

Now, even in mid stream of your wall, you’ll see a post (typically a photo – but not always)  that a certain company page has made (in this example we’ll use Red Stripe Beer) and says Friend X and 3 others like Red Stripe Beer. Then it gives you a nice little option to like them (because if you are seeing this – chances are you don’t already “like” that page.

This is a real sneaky scheme that Facebook started awhile back, and snuck it into our privacy settings automatically and thus forcing users to opt-out manually, instead of doing the ethical thing and asking if this is what we’d like to do.

I’ve been on Facebook since 2007, and I feel that as a veteran member – I know it sounds cocky – I expect a little better treatment.  It’s bad enough they sneak these kinds of things in with new users, but some of us have been “around the block” so to speak and we’d like a little bit more respect.  Or at least like a little bit of royalties in return, but – we did agree to the TOS when we signed up – and that’s what they would argue if you took them to court.

However, there’s a shiny golden idol in the dark thicket. Also known as a real easy way to disable this annoyance – once you know the steps. Facebook is most likely counting on the common user to not dig this deep into the privacy settings.

Unless you like the idea of Facebook using your name for profit, follow along below:

  • First off, go ahead and navigate to Privacy Settings.
  • On the very bottom, where it says “Ads” select Edit Settings.
  • Now you’ll see two different groups, one called “Ads shown by third parties” and another called “Ads and friends”
    • It disgusts me how they say “Ads and friends” – makes it sound like a damn game. (I guess it is for somebody…but not us!) Anyways…
    • On both of those categories, select the link below giving you the option to Edit these nasty settings.
    • On the “Ads shown by third parties”  — they claim they aren’t offering this… but it still has the option of “If We Allow This In The Future” – and you’ll want to select No One on that Drop Down Box, then save your changes.
    • On the “Ads and friends” – you’ll see an example of the ads I was talking about.  Where it says “Pair my social actions with ads for” you are going to want to again select No One and save your changes.

They claim these facts on their Ads with Friends:

  • Social ads show an advertiser’s message alongside actions you have taken, such as liking a Page
  • Your privacy settings apply to social ads
  • We don’t sell your information to advertisers
  • Only confirmed friends can see your actions alongside an ad
  • If a photo is used, it is your profile photo and not from your photo albums

But I’m not buying a bit of it.  I feel if you share my name with even my friends that I “Like” a product – shows a false sense of interest.  Even if I liked the page, doesn’t necessarily mean I support it.  I know it sounds ignorant, but just because I liked Charmin Toilet Paper doesn’t mean that’s what I use. Get what I’m saying?

That’s all I’ve got for now friends.

Relevant targeted Ads — MY ASS! 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *